this post was submitted on 02 Oct 2026
1524 points (99.4% liked)

Programmer Humor

33583 readers
1428 users here now

Welcome to Programmer Humor!

This is a place where you can post jokes, memes, humor, etc. related to programming!

For sharing awful code theres also Programming Horror.

Rules

founded 3 years ago
MODERATORS
you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[โ€“] diaphragmwp@discuss.tchncs.de 1 points 1 week ago (1 children)

{verification}

Ah, verification and trust are separate. Cool.

Well, it was like 2 years ago? I had a different Element session than now (new one now for testing), nheko and fluffychat, and I pressed every possible button and nothing happened. When I open nheko, a dialog box says "Activate encryption"; "to make this device trusted {blah blah blah}" with a big "Verify" button. Pressing it does the same as closing the dialog, so a whole lot of nothing. Same right now. I did try logging out and back in on different devices, back then only though.

in tox, it seems encryption is mandatory

Because that's how it's routed, yes. Peer to peer with fewer points of centralization (still there for node discovery and TCP<>UDP tunnels and shit). The message encryption and the transport encryption are the same.

https://github.com/TokTok/c-toxcore/issues/426
Let's say that Mallory, M, has stolen A's private key

I stopped reading there. I mean, good thing to know that it's possible (especially for potential punks using it and whatnot), but I feel like opsec is fucked regardless in this case.

[โ€“] WhyJiffie@sh.itjust.works 1 points 1 week ago

When I open nheko, a dialog box says "Activate encryption"; "to make this device trusted {blah blah blah}" with a big "Verify" button. Pressing it does the same as closing the dialog, so a whole lot of nothing. Same right now. I did try logging out and back in on different devices, back then only though.

I don't use nheko, I think it should have shown a menu saying something like "waiting to accept verification request". thats what other clients do.

did you have any other client opened on another device when you pressed verify?