this post was submitted on 07 Nov 2024
49 points (96.2% liked)

Selfhosted

61808 readers
307 users here now

A place to share alternatives to popular online services that can be self-hosted without giving up privacy or locking you into a service you don't control.

Rules:

Detailed Rules Post

  1. Be civil.

  2. No spam.

  3. Posts are to be related to self-hosting.

  4. Don't duplicate the full text of your blog or readme if you're providing a link.

  5. Submission headline should match the article title.

  6. No trolling.

  7. Promotion posts require active participation, with an account that is at least 30 days old. F/LOSS without a paywall has exceptions, with requirements. See the rules link for details. Tags [CBH] or [AIP] are required, see the links in Rule 8 for details.

  8. AI-related discussions and AI-involved promotional posts have additional requirements for tagging, as noted in Rule 7 and the AI & Promotional Post Expanded Rules post, and find example disclosures here.

Resources:

Any issues on the community? Report it using the report flag.

Questions? DM the mods!

founded 3 years ago
MODERATORS
 

qBit does delete the file from my physical drive (direct attached storage, raid5). But won't update the free space in the WebUI. The discrepency is over 1TB, so I'd like to address this if someone can help me.

Some info:

  • qBit v.5.0.1, docker, from linuxserver.io
  • Ubuntu 24.04
  • Automatic Management Mode is checked
  • Torrent content removing mode: Delete files permanently
you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] brickfrog@lemmy.dbzer0.com 23 points 2 years ago* (last edited 2 years ago) (2 children)

Has it been happening since qBittorrent 5.x ? Only reason I ask is that 5.0 did introduce a new feature per https://www.qbittorrent.org/news

FEATURE: Allow to move content files to Trash instead of deleting them (glassez)

Maybe double-check the qBittorrent settings and verify that isn't somehow enabled? I'm not on on that version yet so can't be sure how that new feature works or is configured.

If it's not that then I suspect the other comments are right e.g. a hardlinked file elsewhere would defintiely mean you need to delete all the hardlinks to actually free up space.

[–] ReedReads@lemmy.zip 10 points 2 years ago

Yeah, I thought about that too. It's why I noted in the post that my files are set to delete and not be moved to the trash first. Those settings are in options/advanced.

[–] kitnaht@lemmy.world 7 points 2 years ago (1 children)
[–] brickfrog@lemmy.dbzer0.com 3 points 2 years ago (1 children)

Yup going to do that soon :)

Still on 4.x, bummer as I normally wait a while before doing major version software updates but it is what it is.

[–] kitnaht@lemmy.world 2 points 2 years ago* (last edited 2 years ago)

So, I migrated to 5.x and I don't know if it was just me, or a change in the WebUI or something, but Sonarr stopped wanting to pull files in. I've been holding out on the Sonarr upgrade because last I looked at it, it wouldn't auto-migrate you over, etc.

But when I went to upgrade it - it said that now auto-migrates, and it does. However, the old migrated rules looked kinda dirty, so I was panicking a little. The imported/converted stuff all worked, mind you, I just didn't like how they looked. In the end, I ended up really really liking the new Sonarr system, though I did have to ask an LLM how to format some new regex.